KVM guests and synhronizing clock

I was launching a couple of Ubuntu 14.04 KVM guests and I ve noticed that time was wrong. OK I thought, a simple ntpdate command and ntp service enabled will fix the issue. Made a reboot of the guest host and show that the time was ok. Then I destroyed the guest and when I checked the time it was wrong. This can’t be right, I thought, and started researching what might be the issue. What I found is that KVM guests should always consider their hardware clock in UTC time while my guests configuration was in local time.

In order to fix the hardware clock on Ubuntu systems you need to edit file /etc/default/rcS and change the line

UTC=no

to

UTC=yes

then execute the following commands

 # service ntp stop
# ntpdate -u pool.ntp.org
# service ntp start

bonus command on how to see what time is on your hardware clock

 # hwclock --show

Links
http://sophiedogg.com/kvm-clocks-and-time-zone-settings/
http://serverfault.com/questions/469598/kvm-guest-time-shift-on-host-reboot
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/26005056/synchronizing-clock-time-in-host-and-guest-under-kvm

Leave a Reply

